Making a BigFix MSI

(imported topic written by DavidMS91)

I am trying to automatically deploy bigfix via group policy and MSI files. However I am having some trouble packing the file and the masthead in an MSI (is there a utility to automate this?) and generate an installer. Or do I need to use a third party tool? I am pretty new to pushing out MSI installers via AD but see that others have succeeded here.

I know that it also does not help that I am not the one who normally works with bigfix.

(imported comment written by SystemAdmin)

on your BigFix server there should be a directory - \BESInstallers\ClientMSI - which already contains a BESClientMSI.msi for installs. I would start with that as I know it works when using group policy.

(imported comment written by DavidMS91)

Does it include the masthead?

(imported comment written by JCope)

David, did you ever find an answer to the question of whether the Masthead was included in the \BESInstallers\ClientMSI\BESClient.msi file?

I have been gleaning through the IEM Administrators manual and several websites on GPO and I cannot find any indication of how the masthead or config files get connected to the MSI.

Thanks,

Jcope

(imported comment written by jgstew)

I believe that the MSI from BigFix/IBM’s websites do not include the Masthead.

I am not certain about the MSI’s referenced as residing here: \BESInstallers\ClientMSI on the root server.

It has been my understanding that you must have the MSI and masthead in the same folder when running the MSI in order for the masthead to be set properly, otherwise you would need a 3rd party tool to package the MSI to include it.

I’d recommend creating an MSI that ONLY installs the masthead and push out both MSIs using Group Policy.

(imported comment written by GreenEagleLeader)

See the following documentation:

http://pic.dhe.ibm.com/infocenter/tivihelp/v26r1/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.tem.doc_9.1%2FPlatform%2FAdm%2Fc_installing_the_client_with_msi.html