Community Effort - Clean Old Sites from BES Relays

Firstly, I’d like to thank @steve for creating the original content on BigFix.me for this problem
[ORIGINAL WINDOWS FIXLET]

I’d also like to thank @strawgate for his very helpful guide on this subject too

Now to the point, I’m no expert, there’s probably stuff I’ve missed and yeah I love exit codes :smiley:

I’ve updated the content as there doesn’t seem to be any Unix version of this out there (which is a real pain) however I’m sure there are probably better ways of doing this so I’m putting it on here before adding it to bigfix.me to get a community effort going in making this better and more efficient (cause I know there will be ways).

Relevance will be whether or not the BESRelay is installed.

if {windows of operating system}

// restart the BES Relay first
waithidden cmd.exe /C net stop besrelay
if {exit code of action = 0}
else exit 12
endif

// set starting time
setting "_BESClient_PauseWhile"="{now as string}" on "{parameter "action issue date" of action}" for client

// PAUSE until the relay service stops or 3 minutes has passed.
pause while {(exists running application whose (name of it as lowercase = "besrelay.exe") OR exists running service whose (service name of it as lowercase = "besrelay")) AND (now - (value of setting "_BESClient_PauseWhile" of client as string as time)) < 3*minute}

delete "{value "InboxLocation" of key "HKLM\SOFTWARE\BigFix\Enterprise Server\GatherService" of registry}\GatherState.xml.bak"
else exit 13
endif

move "{value "InboxLocation" of key "HKLM\SOFTWARE\BigFix\Enterprise Server\GatherService" of registry}\GatherState.xml" "{value "InboxLocation" of key "HKLM\SOFTWARE\BigFix\Enterprise Server\GatherService" of registry}\GatherState.xml.bak"
else exit 14
endif

delete "{value "InboxLocation" of key "HKLM\SOFTWARE\BigFix\Enterprise Server\GatherService" of registry}\bfemapfile.xml.bak"

else exit 15
endif