Any way to automate patch management?

Hi,

I am new to IEMs patch management so this may be a silly question but essentially I would like to know if it is possible to do the following, and if so how?

At the moment, we do patching every week and it is a manual process to generate the patching baseline and then to Take Action against our computer groups.

Without using the API (if possible), and using IBM Endpoint Manager Console or any other program, is it possible to do all or part of;

1. Every month, automatically generate new baselines with patches (with category filters) relevant to certain Computer Groups
  2. Once the baseline is generated, take action against the computer group at a specific time

We currently achieve this by manually doing this. Since it is done every week, it is extremely time consuming i.e. generate baseline, ensure the baseline matches up with Microsofts Recommended and Important updates, check that updates have been applied, troubleshoot any patches that failed to apply.

Happy to take any suggestions that any of you may have.

Cheers,
Blake

3 Likes

Without using the API, I donā€™t think what you are asking for is possible using IEM. And I donā€™t think it should.

Personally, it only takes me a few minutes to create the Monthly Baselines (one for Critical/Important and a second with the rest of the MS patches for the month). I include All Patches rather than just the Relevant ones.

Our server group then deploys the baselines against our Test machines, then if there are no problems, they update the Production servers in waves.

Workstations, can be patched by the same Baselines because I include all the patch Fixlets in them.