Analysis Help to find a file

I am new to bigfix. My management has given me a directive to search several hundred computers for a specific file (malware) that may have infected some of our desktops. The AV product we use is not capable of this so I must do this using bigfix.

Our security group has provided me with the name of the file and the MD5 hash. Something like

286A9EDB379DC3423A528B0864A0F111
system.ini

So my question is how do I go write an analysis to find a file based on MD5 hash and file name. Couple of things to caveat this with: I don’t know where the file is, I have to search the whole computer. I know this is CPU and Disk I/O intensive and this is not recommended to do.

I appreciate any help that you can provide.

To search the whole system, you must use an action, not relevance directly.

This will be very slow and take a long time. You could have it run detached with a bigfix action so it doesn’t prevent other bigfix actions from running during that time, which could take quite a while.

I’m not completely certain of the best way to do this. You need to identify some software that will allow you to check the MD5 hashes of files that can run on the command line and save the results to a log. Alternatively you could write some code and run it using bigfix that would do this for you.

In the short term, I would recommend looking at the fixlet I made to run the HitmanPro on-demand virus scanner and the analysis to check the results:

http://bigfix.me/fixlet/details/3967

http://bigfix.me/analysis/details/2994641

The fixlet to run HitmanPro may need updated if a new version has been released since I last updated the fixlet on BigFixMe.

This will not install another virus scanner, it will just run it on demand, log the results, and then get deleted. The analysis will read the logged results and tell you what potentially malicious software it has identified.