File Search then SHA1 or SHA256 value

Good day,

I’ve been searching through the site, but not finding what I’m searching for. (it’s very close to Maxadmin’s MD5 request, but not exactly)

Pardon me if I am not using the appropriate terms, I’m a total noob with Bigfix.

My goal is for an analyse to find a file on a system and if found then hash the found value and present it in my report.

I do not have any built-in hashing tools in my infrastructure, therefore, I cannot use FCIV etc… (I wish it was installed, as this would solve so many issues, but it’s not).

I am to believe that Bigfix as a built-in SHA1 and SHA256, if so, I want to levrage that.

To recap, every once in a while, I need to see if a file exist in my enterprise. And if so, I what that file hash value to be reported back.

That way, I can rule out any false positives on my end.

I hope I haven’t confused your brains.

Thank you

You can review file system inspectors here: https://support.bigfix.com/inspectors/Filesystem%20Objects_Any.html

You can find the hash of a file using SHA1 of or SHA256 of .

That being said – searching the computer for a file is not advised as it can take hours and cause client issues. If you have any idea where the file itself could reside on the system that would be a lot better.

1 Like

Thank you for the info strawgate.

The delay to search the drive is not really an issue right now. This is what I use to search for a file;

Relevance 1

(
exists
(
operating system
)
whose
(
it as string as lowercase contains “win” as lowercase
)
)
AND
(
exists
(
drive
whose
(
type of it=“DRIVE_FIXED”
)
)
whose
(
name of it as string =“C:”
)
)

(exists (operating system) whose (it as string as lowercase contains “win” as lowercase)) AND (exists (drive whose (type of it=“DRIVE_FIXED”)) whose (name of it as string =“C:”))

ACtion 1

//Prompts for file name to search