Using and understanding the Inspector Guides

Hello all,

I’m just starting out and able to understand relevancy code and how syntaxes work, but something I’m struggling with is using the Inspector Guides, especially how to “put everything together” relating to what I find in them. I understand the Creation, Properties and Casts pretty well, but I.D’ing different elements of a syntax and how they work together (or what options are available) is eluding me so far.

Here’s an example:

Q: (month of date (local time zone) of now) as two digits.
A: 07

If I look in the “Time Zone” and “Date” objects, I don’t see anything in it that refers to the elements in the above syntax (although I do see the Month of property in “Date”, but not able to tie everything together from it) that stand out as something I can use if I was creating the above code from scratch.

If I use the Inspector Search (https://developer.bigfix.com/relevance/search/) for the various elements:

Month of date
Local Time Zone
Now
Two digits

I get data for all of them. For instance two digits returns this relevant month-to-string casting operation per the syntax example:

<month> as two digits : string
Converts the month into a two digit number (01 - 12)

And that’'s understandable now that I found it, but if I wasn’t aware of “two digits” as something available to me, I’m struggling to understand how I can use the Inspector Guides to point me in the right direction towards “Two digits”, or any of the other syntax elements, and it’s possible options.

I get this might be too broad of a question, but if anyone has maybe an example of how to track down available options for objects - or even how to get a better understanding of the guides themselves - I’d be most appreciative.

Thanks!

1 Like

Edit: Read my next post first, especially the “Introduction to Relevance” and “Introduction to Action” Guides. The rest of this post is more for how to locate information, once you’re comfortable with the syntax.