Trigger Windows updates from comman line

Hi,
im generating Windows Golden Images from a CI/CD pipeline.
im new to bigfix, and i wonder if i can install the agent in a new machine and trigger the windows update via bigfix, check status and deliver the machine as new Windows with latest updates.

can i trigger that fro, by example, powershell?

I’ve utilized pstools and the right click options in the console for something similar.
"psexec -s \\"& name of current computer &" powershell.exe (New-Object -ComObject Microsoft.Update.AutoUpdate).DetectNow()"
This will simulate “Check for updates”

You can also copy the pswinupdate module to “C:\Program Files\WindowsPowerShell\Modules\PSWindowsUpdate” - (https://www.powershellgallery.com/packages/PSWindowsUpdate/2.0.0.4) on machines and run updates from it.

I would highly advise setting TargetReleaseVersionInfo to the the current OS version before doing so. this setting prevents the machine from picking up “Feature Updates” even when someone runs windows updates manually.

Pre-req Task:
Example Relevance:
exists matches(regex"(\(1809\))") of (operating system as string)
Example Action:
regset "[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\WindowsUpdate]" "TargetReleaseVersionInfo"="1809"

Task to run Windows updates (timeout after 1 hour):

Relevance:
exists value "TargetReleaseVersionInfo" of key "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\WindowsUpdate" of registry

Something like this for the Action.:

// Delete possible WSUS registry entries that may prevent windows update from working if gpo is set.
    regdelete "[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\WindowsUpdate]" "WUServer"
    regdelete "[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\WindowsUpdate]" "WUStatusServer"

// Run Updates
delete __createfile
delete "c:\windows\temp\win_updates.ps1"
createfile until EOF
import-module PSWindowsUpdate