(imported comment written by SystemAdmin)
Your custom entries will not be directly affected – they will always stay intact and have precedence. However (there’s always a “however”) there could be conditions where your changes are affected indirectly by the update:
(1) If we add an entry that is both a duplicate and a sibling to one of your entries:
At the application level, you will see both our entry and your entry in the drilldown reports. The computer count will be de-duplicated at the software title version and above so you won’t get double counts, but at the application level you will see two entries – yours and ours – that are the same product. You will want to delete one of the siblings from the catalog.
At the STV level and higher, the above condition could also occur, but you also have the risk of introducing an accidental ambiguous item. This would occur if one or both of the duplicate items (yours and ours) don’t include package strings to help the matching process disambiguate the title.
(2) If we delete a branch of the catalog where you had previously made changes, your changes may get deleted by the update. This will be extremely rare and we will publish any deletions in the documentation. There were none in this update. If you encounter this, condition you can still undelete the items – they’re in the db but have a deleted flag.
(3) If we reorganize a branch of the catalog, your changes will be carried along, but you might be surprised by the reorganization.
You should have a scan through the documentation to see if there were changes to items in our update that you also changed. Compare these to your Catalog audit log.
After the update, spot check a few things like the Ambiguous Entries tool and a few of the titles you customized.
Feedback and recommendations are always welcome :-).