Singular expression refers to non-unique object.

Hi All, I’m relatively new to BIgfix Relevance. I would be most grateful if anyone could help point out why I get the Singular expression refers to non-unique object. when I run the below in Fixlet Debugger.

Even though it outputs the result I want, it still shows Singular expression refers to non-unique object. as shown below.

Q: if exists lines of files whose((it starts with "esp_processing_data" AND it contains ".xml") of (name of it as lowercase)) of folder "C:\postilion\eSocket.POS\incoming" then preceding text of first  " " of substring after "=%22" of line 418 of file whose((it starts with "esp_processing_data" AND it contains ".xml") of (name of it as lowercase)) of folder "C:\postilion\eSocket.POS\incoming" & (" - BigFix Checked it on " & (preceding text of last " " of (following text of first " " of (now as  string)))) else "MID Unknown"
A: 7102924 - BigFix Checked it on 17 May 2020 12:50:50
E: Singular expression refers to non-unique object.

Many thanks.

K

1 Like

This is a really great question, and one in which everyone writing relevance will eventually hit.

BigFix Relevance has 2 forms, Singular and Plural.

Singular Relevance MUST have exactly 1 result. 0 results is an error, 2 or more results is an error.

Plural Relevance is “valid” no matter how many results it has, no hard errors should generally be thrown by plural relevance, with some exceptions. This means there can be 0 results, or 1 result, or 2+ results, and all options are equally fine as far as the “validity” of the relevance is concerned.

So in your case, the error Singular expression refers to non-unique object. means that your relevance is written such that there must be exactly 1 result, but there is in-fact NOT exactly 1 result. In this particular case, since it is showing 1 result before throwing this error, then that means there are 2 or more results.