Report on Windows Security Event Log

Hello,

I’m a newbie trying to wrap my head around writing these queries.

What I would like to do is run a report that returns time of an event, account name and machine name of a specific windows event id during the last 24 hours.

For example, security event log Event ID 4625 on Tues, May 2 2018 at 10:30, on computer wsk123 for user JDOE

An added bonus if I could specify a specific date I want to return results on , that would be awesome.

What I have so far is:

(time generated of it) of records whose (event id of it = 4625 AND now - time generated of it < 1*day AND description of it contains “An account failed to log on.”) of security event log

Which will list all the event times in the last 24 hours.

How can I add to the query for additional like username and machine name from the Event description “Subject: Account Name:” and “Network Information: Workstation Name:”

Ideal output would be:
Tue, 01 May 2018 23:06:05 -0700, JDOE, WSK123

Thanks in advanced for any help!

You can try this,

(time generated of it, user sid of it) of records whose (event id of it = 4625 AND now - time generated of it < 1*day AND description of it contains “An account failed to log on.”) of security event log

This will get you the account name as well.

As far as reporting, I created an analysis to return the results. I then use a filter to key off the results. Then report then is set to run when Send email/store archive only when report has changed is selected.

Hope this helps.

I gave it a try but received an error:

Q: (time generated of it, user sid of it) of records whose (event id of it = 4625 AND now - time generated of it < 1*day AND description of it contains “An account failed to log on.”) of security event log
E: Singular expression refers to nonexistent object.

Is it possible to use the xml of function to search and return results of the Event Log XML?

For example, pull the data for:

• jdoe
    WSK123

Try this;