Recommendations for deploying BigFix on AWS

Does anyone have recommendations for deploying BigFix on AWS for ~500 endpoints? How much CPU/RAM/Disk should I use, assuming I’m using Windows Server 2016 with MSSQL? Are there any (recent) guides for doing this?

1 Like

If you have an existing on prem BigFix server, then you don’t actually need to deploy the root server into AWS, you can just put a relay there to connect to the AWS clients.

I’m not an AWS expert, but here are some considerations:

If you are setting up a new BigFix root server in AWS instead of on prem, then you really need faster networking and disks than normal. Not all AWS EC2 VMs can do the higher speed networking, but you are going to need it, especially if you end up having multiple VMs handle BigFix infrastructure duties, rather than all on a single VM. Also, the MSSQL db and the BigFix root server filldb folder will require fast SSD storage, meanwhile the rest of the BigFix root server application should have larger bulk storage.

There are BigFix Capacity and Performance planning docs here:

500 clients is small enough that it should run in AWS without problems, and potentially without Elastic Network Adapter, but it is still a good idea.

Also, it is technically possible, though sometimes a bit of a pain, to switch the type of EC2 VM in AWS as you grow, so you could start smaller and move up as needed.

Enabling Enhanced Networking in AWS

I have been meaning to make BigFix content to determine if ENA is available, enabled, and working or to enable it if available but not currently configured.

SSD Instance Store Volumes in AWS

• SSD Instance Store Volumes - Windows
  • SSD Instance Store Volumes - Linux
    • The following instances offer non-volatile memory express (NVMe) solid state drives (SSD) instance store volumes: C5d, G4, I3, I3en, F1, M5ad, M5d, p3dn.24xlarge, R5ad, R5d, and z1d