Qna frustration: howto use qna - tip needed

Hi.
I am new to BigFix - looks like fun down the road.

I am reading the manual, I am reading simple fixlets and I am trying to get a feeling for relevance evaluation.

As an example: Fixlet #15: BES Clients have the wrong time (paraphrased)

I was thinking I could do a simple cut/paste from the details pane to the QNA

( ( now - apparent registration server time ) > 1 * hour)

I was expecting at least True/False - just like (1 > 0) does.

Instead I get:
Q: ((( now - apparent registration server time ) > 1 * hour))
E: No inspector context.
T: 1315

And when I try:
1 * hour and (1 * hour) the A: is the same (01:00:00) but the T value changes.

I am sure I am doing something (simple) wrong - but I am not finding it the PDFs.

Thanks for a tip - better “the” tip.

Hi!

Welcome to the forums! You’ve stumbled on some interesting things for your first times using QnA :slight_smile:

When you’re using QnA you’re actually using a separate relevance engine from what the client uses and so when you get an error, “No Inspector Context” that means that QnA doesn’t know how to answer that question but the client would.

On Windows we can route a QnA Question through the client by opening Fixlet Debugger, clicking Debug at the top, open Evaluate Using and change it to Local Client Evaluator.

Note: This will be very very slow as we have to wait for the client to find time to crunch our relevance. Only use this mode when you have to!

The T value is simply the amount of time in microseconds that the query took to run. This is useful to check the impact of your queries. If it takes you a minute to run a query in QnA then that means it will take a long time on the client – it helps you identify, “expensive” queries.

Does that help?

1 Like

Yes, very much so.