Pending Restart Action Message

(imported topic written by DPSofNY)

I have several clients in a group all with the same windows OS revision(W2K3 R2). When applying relevant fixlets to the group, I select a force restart in the post action section. 1 of the clients completes successfully (Status = complete) while the other 4 clients expire with a status of Pending Message. When you drill down into the View Action Info on an individual client the message is the following:

Waiting for user to respond to restart message.

I have the default post action set to:

1. Restart computer after action completes

2. Force restart/shutdown after: 1 minute.

Checked the KB and read articles 159 and 369. The client that reboots has no entry in the registry for HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServiesOnce\BESPendingRestart while the failing 4 clients do.

Has anyone seen this type of behavior? What would cause the client not to reboot? I am new to BigFix and could use some help -THANKS

(imported comment written by SystemAdmin)

There was a bit longer of a discussion on something similar to this: http://forum.bigfix.com/viewtopic.php?pid=3861

The take away for you would be to set the BES Client setting

_BESClient_ActionManager_SkipVoluntaryOnForceShutdown

to 1 and see if that helps improve the restart behavior on these boxes. If these computers are Terminal Servers you might be seeing an issue where Windows will not shutdown properly because of multiple users being logged into the computer. I would just try using the setting here and see if the restart behavior improves.

another similar post:

http://forum.bigfix.com/viewtopic.php?pid=1865

(imported comment written by DPSofNY)