OSD WinPE cannot connect to server - Connection refused

Hi all,

I’m new to BigFix and having difficulties getting OSD network boot media to work.

I keep getting a “connection refused: invalid password” error when booting endpoints to the network boot media.

I’ve tested this from several endpoints on different VLans using both the servers IP and DNS names. I’ve tried setting a few different passwords in the media creation wizard, but no change. Is this password supposed to be just for the boot media or is this a password that has to match something set previously on the server side?

I feel I must be missing an important step of configuration/setup from the server side, but being new to all this I can’t figure out what.

Any help appreciated.

Cheers

Hopefully you can get a better reply than this, but maybe this can point you in the right direction. That looks like an rbagent password issue to me.

When you first set up the OSD server(s), you set a username and password for the server. This can be used when logging in to the Web Interface (if you have it turned on), and also is used for communication between the rbagent and the rembo server.

I think the configurations are under \Program Files\Common Files\IBM Shared, but don’t quote me on it. Under there you should find an rbagent.conf and a rembo.conf. The rembo.conf has an encoded version of the password, which should match the password in the rbagent.conf. And you should try to make that password the same across all of your OSD servers as well, or you’ll end up in situations where you can’t use the same media across servers.