Need to have a profile for Windows

Hello,

I am kind of new at this whole thing, but when I run something like dos or cmd for windows, is there an easy way to get an environment for the user running the commands? In linux I can run a --login on the command line.

thanks

Under Windows, the BigFix client runs as “Local System”, not a user. There is a way to run commands as the “Logged In User”, but if there is no user logged in, I’m not sure how you want to handle it.

I see, what I run into are things that don’t run in big fix with a simple dos or cmd statement and the guy I am working with creates a whole ps1 shell or pushes a batch file to get them to run. Trying to avoid that.

What causes something like this command to not run in BigFix.

C:\Prgram Files\tivoli\tsm\baclient\gsk8capicmd_64 -cert -add -db C:\Prgram Files\tivoli\tsm\baclient\dsmcert.kdb -stashed -label “AddTrust-External-CA-Root” -file __Download\AddTrust-External-CA-Root.crt -format ascii -trust enable

It will run on a straight up command line.

So are you issuing the following …
wait "C:\Program Files\tivoli\tsm\baclient\gsk8capicmd_64.exe" -cert -add -db "C:\Program Files\tivoli\tsm\baclient\dsmcert.kdb" -stashed -label “AddTrust-External-CA-Root” -file __Download\AddTrust-External-CA-Root.crt -format ascii -trust enable

(Note: I added quotes around the path statements due to the spaces in the them. I also added the .EXE file extension to the file being executed.)

In addition to @TimRice’s guidance on the spaces, this may also be due to the BigFix client running in 32-bit mode by default (for backwards compatibility). When your action references “C:\Program Files”, it is by default redirected to “C:\Program Files (x86)”. You need to change the behavior on that by using action uses wow64 redirection false in the script before running hte commands.

Leaving aside the downloads, the action script would look something like

// do your downloads first
action uses wow64 redirection false