Moving a file to a users machine

Hello Everyone,

I am still very new to BigFix and have been testing how to move a test file to a test machine. I will need to know this for future deployments. Right now I created a test file in the, “Windows Software Distribution Wizard” and added a test.txt file to it. The file is going to a, “Temp” folder that already exists on the destination machine. I added this command to move it to the, “Temp” folder:

move __Download\Test.txt “c:\TEMP\Test.txt”

The wizard creates a, “prefetch” and, “extract” of the file as well but, still fails to work. Not sure why this supposedly simple test would still fail. Any advise is very welcome. Thanks!

First, does “C:\Temp” exist? If it does not, you will need to create it.

If it does exists, is the file already present?

Try copying the file instead of moving it.

Moving a file within the same volume keeps the permissions of the file, which means that a typical user account won’t see it.

1 Like

Thank you for the advise but unfortunately I am still not able to get it working. Please allow me to clarify what I am trying to do:

I am trying to move a simple .txt file from the BigFix console to a test computer (a simple .txt file to be exact). I need to learn how to do this so I can move more complex files later on. The temp folder already exists on the test machine and the .txt file has been uploaded into the BigFix console. I now need to know how to move the .txt to the test machine using BigFix.

I uploaded the file into the BigFix console and here is my command:

move __Download\Test.txt “c:\MWA\TEMP\Test.txt”

I also tried this at the recommendation of trn:

copy __Download\Test.txt “c:\MWA\TEMP\Test.txt”

Please let me know what you think and thank you in advance!

Can you post your complete script please?

yep - here is the script:

move __Download\Test.txt "c:\MWA\TEMP\Test.txt"
move “{(pathname of client folder of current site) & “__Download\Test.txt”}” “c:\MWA\TEMP\Test.txt”