Merging two different Bigfix environments

Hi,

I am new to BigFix and been given a task to add already existing BigFix environment into a newly configured one. So far I have been exporting the Computer Groups, Baselines off old one and importing into new one. It is a tedious and time consuming job, hence mundane.

Could someone please help me with the procedure to perform this activity more efficiently and quickly?

Thanks in advance
Sujay

Having had the pleasure (?!?) of doing this with several environments, I’m willing to try and help.

• How many Custom Sites exist in the “Source” environment?
  • Are these sites going to be replicated in the “Destination” environment?
  • Do you need to migrate Custom SCM Checklists?

Since you refer to the process as “mundane”, I assume you are exporting the objects individually. Did you know that you can export multiple objects into the same .BES file?

You can export all of the Baselines into one .BES, then all of the Fixlets/Tasks into another .BES file, etc. If you need to, you can do this based on the Source site.

Where things always got tedious for me was when trying to migrate Manual Groups. There is no way to export them from the Console itself. Yet another reason NOT to use them in the first place!

Once you have your Fixlets/Baselines/Analyses/Groups objects imported into the “Destination” environment where you want them, you can start to think about the Migration of the Endpoints.

1 Like

Hi Tim,

Many thanks for getting back.

Thank you very much for getting back to me. As suggested I tried to bulk export which didn’t work. I chose multiple Automatic Computer Groups and on clicking export it displayed a single file. I went ahead hoping that all computer groups will get exported into a Single file which wasn’t the case.

If what i did was not the right procedure, could you please help me with the right procedure?

and to answer your questions