Manual Cache folder on BigFix Server

We have several files in the manual cache folder on the bigfix server. These files have crazy names including numbers and letters. Is there a way to open these files and see exactly what they do or what readable the contents are? is there a tool out there that can open these files or do I need to just add and extension to the file and if so, what extension. .txt doesn’t work.

thanks.

those are sha1 values !

you can use extract command to extract them & see what they are actually but for running this command you need to be on Fixlet Debugger.

extract 0bd4a25d7e6dcb744d6d0d98da096564079a3dc8

VK,

thanks for your help. can you tell me exactly what to do to evaluate this? I’m new to bigfix and having a lot of problems.

Ok,

so I opened the fixlet debugger, now where do I go? which button(s) do I press? I would be so appreciative for a little guidance.

thanks.

Sno

By ‘manual cache folder’ on the BigFix Server, do you mean ..\BES Server\wwwrootbes\bfmirror\downloads\sha1? If so, what are you trying to do or achieve with the files within that folder?

For reference and more information in general about this folder, please see https://help.hcltechsw.com/bigfix/9.5/platform/Platform/Config/c_managing_downloads.html.

Thanks for the help!

The files in the sha1 folder in question are part of the BigFix Server’s download cache, meaning, they are files that generally are being made available to Clients. The contents of this folder are typically managed automatically by the BigFix Server, however, as you note, you can manually cache files here too. The contents of the files will depend on what is being distributed to the Clients…things like Patches, updated applications, etc… The files in this folder would typically be referenced by Fixlets in your environment visible through the Console, Web Reports, or WebUI. For instance, if I look at the current largest file in my sha1 folder, I see the following: