Issue with relevance substitution

I have some experience with relevance, but it seems I do not write fixlets often enough to have become proficient… I am working on a fixlet to change a registry key value. The relevance looks like this:

regset “[{key whose (value “ProfileImagePath” of it as string contains “user_a”) of keys “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList” of (x64 registries)}]” “ProfileImagePath”=“c:\users\user_b”

The relevance expression itself evaluates correctly when run both in a debugger and as an analysis:

key whose (value “ProfileImagePath” of it as string contains “user_a”) of keys “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList” of (x64 registries)

But when I try to use the expression as substitution I get errors:

Operator “ProfileImagePath” is undefined.

I have done some research, but figure I am either missing something simple or I am completely misunderstanding how relevance substitution works.

Are you putting "ProfileImagePath"="c:\users\user_b" on a new line in the action script? It should be on the same line as your regset command (https://developer.bigfix.com/action-script/reference/registry/regset.html)

Is that maybe it?

1 Like

No. It is on the same line.

Could it be you are returning a registry object and not a string? How about casting to string, ie

"[{key whose (value "ProfileImagePath" of it as string contains "user_a") of keys "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList" of (x64 registries) as string}]"

or

"[{pathname of key whose (value "ProfileImagePath" of it as string contains "user_a") of keys "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList" of (x64 registries)}]"

The relevance should work as the string cast happens automatically. casting it to a string is syntactically more correct though.

Few other things to note: