Installing Office 365?

There is no doubt that I am a newbie with BigFix. We purchased Patch and I am trying to find out if anyone has complete directions on how to deploy Office 365. Is it possible or not.

I would appreciate any assistance.

Thanks

1 Like

You’ll first need to determine if you plan to deploy via Microsoft CDN, as we do, or via the file full installer. Regardless, you are going to need to get your XML files and ODT process down before you even think of using BigFix.

2 Likes

I appreciate the fast response!!!

So I have my configuration.xml completed. I have ran an installation from Microsoft CDN but I am looking to use a local share for systems that are onsite and Microsoft CDN for offsite systems. Running the ODT allowed me to create am MSI install and it had an option to download the files but they are just a bunch of CABs.

2018-01-30 10_49_27-Data

I have ran the ODT a few times, it has an option to embed installation files but it does not seem to actually embed them. I still get the same 4,xxxk msi file.

Any other help would be great! Keep it coming. :grinning:

I think a big part of O365 is moving away from MSI in favor of C2R. All I can do is tell you how I did it and you can decide for yourself.

Here is my XML for what I called “Non-CDN” installs (note how I download Visio/Project; this is clear later):

<Configuration>
  <Add Version="16.0.8431.2153" 
    OfficeClientEdition="32"
    Channel="Broad">
    <Product ID="O365ProPlusRetail">
      <Language ID="en-us" />
      <ExcludeApp ID="Publisher" />
      <ExcludeApp ID="InfoPath" />
      <ExcludeApp ID="Groove"/>
    </Product>
    <Product ID="VisioStdXVolume">
      <Language ID="en-us"/>
    </Product>
    <Product ID="ProjectStdXVolume">
      <Language ID="en-us"/>
    </Product>
  </Add>
  <Updates Enabled="TRUE"
    UpdatePath=""
    Channel="Broad" />
  <Display Level="None"
    AcceptEULA="TRUE" />
  <Logging Level="Standard"
    Path="%windir%\temp" />