Email notification for start of an SA Action

Hello, I am fairly new to the automation side of Bigfix. Have been tasked with creating multiple automation scripts for patching The end user is asking for an email notification at the start of the action, and another that shows the completed action status. The start email just has to say something like “Automated Patching process started for XXX environment”.

I have created working scripts so far that handle the service management, patching and restart processes, but having issues with the email notification at the start of the action.

Simple test script:
Step #1 - Fixlet ID#152 - Configure Email Notification Settings for Server Automation (Target: root server, global: yes, email: myself, Include global: yes, Message: Starting patching, Include summary: no)

Step #2 - ID#126 - Restart endpoint and wait for restart to complete (Target: test server)

Step #3 - ID#152 - Configure Email Notification Settings for Server Automation (Target: root server, global: yes, email: myself, Include global: yes, Message: Starting patching, Include summary: yes)

When I run this, all actions complete with 100%, but I do not get the Step 1 email. I do get the Step 3 completion email stating “Automation Plan completed successfully”

How can I create an “Automation Plan Starting” email?

Note, we thought about using ID#2244 - Send Email notification, but we are getting dinged by PCI because that seems to drop the senders Username/Password into a config file in plaintext into the BF folder on the installed drive. We use elevated logins for Bigfix via ldap so that is unacceptable.
Thanks

I use a 3rd party utility called BLAT.exe to send emails. It’s not part of BigFix, but it allows us to send almost any email we need. Download it to the clients and save it as a utility.

1 Like

Hi Michael,