Edit exported .XML file into .beswrpt

Hello all,

I’m new with BIGFIX, and I have a task that is to migrate the WebReports List from the old console.

So I struggled first to get the WR.PrintReportXML(), but I managed to extract the .XML, however I understand that I need to edit the file once I’m not familiar with I’m struggling a bit into which parts I should “eliminate” and the ones that I need to maintain.

As an example I’m providing part of the line I got and I see this “\n” that I think I should remove.

'<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
\n\n

So I followed this [How to migration Custom WebReports to another environment?], in order to retrieve the WR.PrintReportXML(), however the XML. presented by “leewei”:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> Example Report TemplateReport #wr_computerTable=%22sort%3DR-computer%2520Name%26dir%3Ddesc%26startIndex%3D0%26results%3D50%26c%3DR-Computer%2520Name%26c%3DR-IP%2520Address%26c%3DR-OS%26c%3DR-CPU%26c%3DR-Last%2520Report%2520Time%22 ExploreComputers

Is not the same has I got, can anyone point me on the right direction?

Thank you in advance

Task57

If I follow leewei’s instructions I get content I can cut and paste into my text editor and save with a .beswrpt extension.

I can then import that file into Web Reports, run the report and get the results I expect.

I did this using Edge on Windows 10.

I appreciate that this may seem unhelpful, but leewei’s instructions are correct

The same procedure is also officially documented here:
https://help.hcltechsw.com/bigfix/10.0/platform/Platform/Web_Reports/c_creating_a_portable_report_for.html

Note the AllowCustomReportCreation setting said at the end of the doc page that need to be used on the target machine in order to have the possibility to import the report ( appears a link at the beginning of the page )

It is suggested to use a new version of Bigfix ( up to 10.0.3 and 9.5.18 )

1 Like

Hi Trn

Thank for your reply.