Detect Powershell Exist

Folks,

I am looking for a simple query that can detect if a powershell module exists or not. If not, then install the module on the target windows endpoint.

Any help will be gladly appreciated.

I would imagine a relevancy clause based on the install location. My relavancy clause and location is:
(not exists file “C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\powershell.exe”)

I am very new to this as well I’ve only created a couple of tasks that work in the PowerShell language on specific models. Working on a fixlet, and converting all my old batch files to PowerShell/BigFix language.

Hi,

The path presented is where windows installs powershell. But there is another folder in c:\program files where powershell stores modules. Attempting to run a query for this location is tricky. The powershell modules and file extensions are not necessarily straightforward.

Oh my bad, I didn’t think of modules again I’m new to PowerShell. Is there not a specific file for each module you could reference?

@lions1855 let me suggest a step towards the solution for the tricky part:

q: pathnames of folders of folders (substrings separated by ";" of  values of variable "PSModulePath" of environment)
A: C:\Program Files\WindowsPowerShell\Modules\Microsoft.PowerShell.Operation.Validation
A: C:\Program Files\WindowsPowerShell\Modules\PackageManagement
A: C:\Program Files\WindowsPowerShell\Modules\Pester
A: C:\Program Files\WindowsPowerShell\Modules\PowerShellGet
A: C:\Program Files\WindowsPowerShell\Modules\PSReadline
A: C:\WINDOWS\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\Modules\AppBackgroundTask
A: C:\WINDOWS\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\Modules\AppLocker
A: C:\WINDOWS\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\Modules\AppvClient
A: C:\WINDOWS\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\Modules\Appx

You could then pull the Names of those folders and compare it vs the module name you are looking for.

Hi Brolly33,