Delete registry folder

i am new to BF and want to create a fixlet to delete a folder in the registry.

Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run key
Find Logitech Download Assistant and delete the entry

thanks for the help

Adam

You should be able to make some kind of relevance like:

exists value “Logitech Download Assistant” of keys “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run” of native registry

and then a command to delete it:

// For 32Bit
if {not x64 of operating system}
regdelete “[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]” "Logitech Download Assistant"
endif

// For 64Bit
if {x64 of operating system}
regdelete64 “[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]” "Logitech Download Assistant"
endif

2 Likes

Assuming “Logitech Download Assistant” is the name of a value, there are a few considerations here.

Bigfix is a 32-bit application, and trying to access key "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software" of registry in relevance will actually be redirected to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wow6432Node. This can be avoided by using the of native registry or of x64 registry inspectors instead.

When the Action runs, it likewise spans 32-bit binaries for actions like wait reg.exe. This can be avoided by using action uses wow64 redirection false in the script.

Try the following on a test system

Relevance:
windows of operating system AND (exists values "Logitech Download Assistant" of keys "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run" of native registry

Action:

action uses wow64 redirection false

waithidden reg.exe delete "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run" /v "Logitech Download Assistant" /f
2 Likes

I’d also recommend checking out the Windows Registry Wizard for such use cases as well: How to add value in registry