Considering Bigfix - feedback wanted

(imported topic written by ReedMikel91)

Hi All,

I am an independent consultant with about 20 clients, each having anywhere from 5 to 40 Windows workstations - and most with a single Windows 200x server. I am trying to simplify remote management of these client sites using some sort of MSP tool like Bigfix. Last month I purchased Kaseya, but it has been far from impressive. They just released their new 2008 version and it has more bugs than features at this time. Tech support is overwhelmed and can take days to respond. I can still bail out and and get my deposit back. I suspect most of their customers that have thousands (or tens of thousands) invested have to stick it out, no matter how poorly Kaseya performs/supports… I think that’s called a “captive audience” :slight_smile:

Luckily, I have time to find an alternative/better product. So I did some searching and came across Bigfix. I just downloaded the demo, so will try it out. But I thought I’d seek some feedback of Bigfix users? Anyone come from the Kaseya camp?

One of my primary interests is simplifying patch management, something like the way WSUS lets you preapprove a category of patches (say Critical and Security). Does Bigfix streamline patch management along these lines?

I also want integrated antivirus/antispyware that I can offer to my clients. Hopefully a product that integrates so smoothly and requires little or no response from users when a threat is detected - as users just do not know what to do :slight_smile: Deployment and disinfection should be solid…