Check Endpoints vs AD Objects

Is there any way to check endpoints (active or inactive) vs domain AD Computers? Looking to make a quick and efficient way to remove any endpoints that are not currently in active directory. This relies on AD being 100% up to date (which it unfortunately isn’t) but it is a start to a project to clean up BigFix and AD.

There is an Active Directory Path property in BigFix which reports where the Computer thinks it is in AD.

You can use this property to identify devices not currently in Active Directory.

I’m relatively new to the entire Bigfix infrastructure - I just started with my current position a few weeks ago and am still trying to learn some of the basics.

We have it set for devices to be removed after 90 days of inactivity. I’m just looking to create a custom action that will remove devices no longer in AD.

When a device is removed from AD - it’s generally offline from the network. So while the AD Path property is handy, it won’t report that it’s lacking an AD path because it’s offline, correct?

If there’s something I’m missing let me know - don’t be afraid to sound condescending, I’m a complete beginner.

So to be clear – you have deleted the computer out of AD.

Per your statement, “I’m just looking to create a custom action that will remove devices no longer in AD.”

Which of the following describes what you mean when you say, “remove devices”?

1. Remove the computer’s domain join so its local only
  2. Delete the IBM BigFix Agent off the device
  3. Remove the computer from the BigFix Console

When you say, “it’s generally offline from the network” do you mean its on some other network like someone’s wifi or its in a box and powered off?

I want to remove the device entry from the bigfix database - delete the object from the IBM Bigfix Console.