Bigfix + vmware?

I have the vcenter plugin running pulling vmguest inventory

I am looking for a way to have the OS client know what the parent VM name is really, as we have multiple VMs which their Vcenter guest name not matching their OS/DNS name reported by the bigfix client in the OS.

I am also looking for any examples of how to read and set Vmware tags using Bigfix, ideally allowing the tag to be set in the OS and also in Vcenter so we can use for targeting and reporting.

Any ideas would be appreciated
Thank you

My understanding from documentation is that BF doesn’t associate a VM to a Guest through name, it’s through matching the BIOS UUID. They link to a few articles on vmWare about this as well.
https://help.hcltechsw.com/bigfix/10.0/platform/Platform/Config/c_cloudtroubleshoot.html

Our environment is 99% matching, so I haven’t found a problem / verified this yet as I am just getting started with the plugin and have only inventoried 10-20% of our environment.

At the moment, BigFix has two solutions for managing virtual machines defined on VMware, not sure which one this thread is referring to.

Let me briefly summarize:

BigFix 9.5 (any patch level) and earlier: there exists only the Virtual Endpoint Manager (VEM) solution, which doesn’t provide correlation between the computers reported by the Management Extender for VMware vCenter, which represent the virtual machines as defined on VMware, and the computers that represent BigFix Agents installed on some/all of those virtual machines. If - for instance - you have 10 virtual machines created on your VMware server, and all of them are running a BigFix Agent, the BigFix Console will show 20 computers, 10 of which (those retrieved by VEM) with names that match the VM names as they appear on VMware interfaces, and 10 of which (those associated to BigFix Agents) with names that match the hostnames of the virtual machines as specified at OS level.