BigFix API Computers in Group with Last Report Time

Greetings all,

I am pretty new to using API calls, especially the BigFix API, so please bear with me here!

What I would ultimately like to happen is my GET shows me all computers in the BigFix Console, in a given group, which haven’t reported in, say, 30 minutes.

I have been able to build an API call that returns all computers in my NVR group. This is step 1.

However, I am a bit confused on how to use the API to query the last report time of the NVR devices. Do I need to somehow make an analysis in the Console that shows devices with a report time > 30 minutes, and then return its results via the API? Or, is there some way to have the API return that data natively?

Again, sorry if this makes no sense. They don’t really teach you BigFix in college :wink:

Thanks!

Makes perfect sense, sure. What’s your query look like so far?

You can use a filter for whose (now - last report time of it > 30 * minute) , but where to put the filter depends a bit on your query structure.

In my test analysis, I currently have the relevance at this:
member of group 52 of sites whose (now - last report time of it > 5 * minute)

However, it’s not returning any applicable computers, and I know there are some who haven’t reported in 5 minutes.

From what I’ve found, if I can get that analysis to work, then I can simply GET that with the API call, and it should return the data I want: device name, and last report time - since the Properties are those.

I’m afraid there’s a difference between “client relevance” (evaluated by the client - Properties, Analysis Properties, Fixlets, Tasks, Computer Groups, etc.) and “Session Relevance” (evaluated by the Server - in Console Dashboards or Web Reports or REST API queries). A bit more detail at Besclient version relevance - #2 by JasonWalker