Update from 9.5.8.38 TO 9.5.11.191?

Hello, I’m VERY new at BigFix.

We’ve had the ILMT in our BigFix environment for about 6 months now. Not my responsibility, however, we’ve just added BigFix Patch licenses to it, and this part is my responsibility. I still mostly use WSUS for patching but needed to move to BigFix so I’d have more control over Server 2016. So bear with me. :slight_smile:

The admins that run the ILMT tool have not been keeping the revisions up to date.

My question is,

Can I create an action to update the BigFix server itself to update and install:
“IBM BigFix - Updated Platform Server Components version 9.5.11”

And then the console next?
I don’t have any relays set up yet, so that shouldn’t be an issue.

What is the best way to do what I need to do to get everything updated and running version 9.5.11.191?

BigFix is running on a 2016 server. We do have the Unix “family” of clients reporting that are also on 9.5.8.38, bu these are not my concern at the moment, just the Windows clients.

Any help in this area would be fantastic, because like I said, this is a new world for me.

Thanks!!
Chris

I am actually planning on upgrading from 9.5.8 to 9.5.11 next week. Win 2016 backend servers with a mix of Windows/Linux/AIX endpoints
The order for upgrading is: Root Server, Web Reports, Console, Relays, Endpoints.

Upgrading the root server has to be done manually as the services need to be stopped. Relays and endpoints are the only things that will be upgraded via console. We prefer to run the manual installer for the root server after a cleanup is run via BESAdmin. My db is roughly 90gb, and when I went to 9.5.8, it took about 2.5 hours to rebuild. We are using SQL2016 on a dedicated server. Total upgrade time was roughly 4 hours including Webreports/Webui and most Windows endpoints.

Rough steps can be found here: https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/community/wikis/home?lang=en#!/wiki/Tivoli%20Endpoint%20Manager/page/Upgrading%20Best%20Practices