Relevance for software installed on clients

Hi, I am new to the relevance language and hoping to get a pointer in the right direction…i am trying to create an automatic group that discovers all of my clients that have a particular package installed (McAfee to be precise)
I am unsure how to start and best practice…any help will be most appreciated

Thanks in advance

This will depend on the OS in question. Can you narrow the field a little?

sure, apologies for the ambiguity, there are a number of soft packages that i want to discover to be installed, namely some of the applications are McAfee and Bit9, which would be installed on the Windows platform (Workstations and Servers)

OK, For Windows, we are interested in what’s listed under the Uninstall key in the Registry.

As a Specific example, let’s look to see if you have the “IBM BigFix Client” installed.

As a “Best Practices”, it’s not enough to simply look to see if there is a Key that has a “DisplayName” listing “IBM BigFix Client”, we need to also check to see if the “DisplayName” property even exists. This prevents returning errors when writing Relevance to be used in Analyses. In this case you could get away without it, but I try to make it a habit.

So, we’re going to look to see if a Registry Key exists under the Uninstall Key that has a Value “DisplayName” AND where the “DisplayName” has a value of “IBM BigFix Client”

Exists key whose (exists Value "DisplayName" of it AND (Value "DisplayName" of it) as string starts with "IBM BigFix Client") of Key "HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall" of (if (x64 of Operating System) THEN (x32 Registry; x64 Registry) ELSE (Registry))

2 Likes

You can use plural relevance instead. This is how I would recommend doing it:

exists (it as string) whose(it contains "IBM BigFix Client") of values "DisplayName" of keys of keys "HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall" of (x64 registries; x32 registries)