Relevance for Installation

I’ve checked a number of relevance topics but have yet to find one that relates to what I am trying to do. I have a relevance statement that would install Qualys agent if it is not in the registry. This is not working as expected. I have 7 servers that show up as relevant when there should be about 50+ servers that show up. Those 7 that show up shouldn’t be there if the remaining servers are not there either. Statement below. I am still pretty new to this since I do not have to do this very often

exist key whose (value “DisplayName” of string does not contain “Qualys Cloud Security Agent”) of key “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall” “of native registry”

Is it because you are not looking at both 32 and 64 registries?

We used this recently

exists (it as string) whose(it contains "Edge") of values "DisplayName" of keys of keys "HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall" of (x64 registries; x32 registries)

You could also try to look for the service

NOT exists service whose (service name of it as string contains "QualysAgent")

Or if you still want to use the registry

NOT exists key "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Qualys\QualysAgent" of native registry

1 Like

we use the service name often. Works best for us.

We avoid case sensitivity also…

NOT exists service whose (service name of it as string as lowercase = "qualysagent")

1 Like

I like the other responses here, especially looking for the service, but I like a good relevance challenge so I’d like to dig into this anyway

This is a good example for a short Relevance lesson. It’s often very useful to use the Fixlet Debugger, to split the statement into smaller pieces and find the error (WebUI Query App is also useful for things like this, especially where you get “some” of the expected results but not others)

Let’s throw that statement into the Fixlet Debugger: