Non master operators can't delete the groups they create?

(imported topic written by TommyG91)

I am having trouble with accounts (that do not have “create content” permissions) being able to create groups, but they cannot delete their own groups after they create them. Is this the designed behavior? Or am I doing something incorrect?

Thanks

Tom