Manual BES Caching Required

Hello,

I’m new to the BigFix world and I ran into an issue today I need assistance with. I’m trying to install the Windows 10 Enterprise Version 1703 update to 70+ nodes. I pushed the update out to my test tier yesterday to run over night. When I came in this morning it was in a failed status. I checked the details and I see this message:

Download error: The requested URL does not pass this deployment’s download whitelist.
Download requested by client:
URL: http://MANUAL_BES_CACHING_REQUIRED/en_windows_10_enterprise_version_1703_updated_march_2017_x64_dvd_10189290.iso
Hash: (sha1)77d5e7c91b5dbbee410fb6c57cb944238bf7176a
Size: 4247986176 bytes
Next retry: The download will be retried the next time it is requested. Retry now

It is obvious that I need to manually install this on my BigFix server first so it can be cached before the update is pushed out to my relay servers and nodes. However, I have never done this. I’m hoping someone can send me a step by step on how to complete this.

Any advice helps!

1 Like

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg21506037

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg21506080

This means that you have to download the ISO image, rename it to its SHA1 name, 77d5e7c91b5dbbee410fb6c57cb944238bf7176a, and then place it in the BES Download cache.

See the above article for more information and reply here if you need further assistance with it.

Thanks
Dave L.

2 Likes

Thank you for the quick response. I will follow up and let you know if it works.

There is another option. You can download the ISO, put it on a web server the root can access, then create a task or action that prefetches from that location, and run it on a system. The prefetch used will be the same, just with a different url. This will cause the root server to cache the file. Once it is cached, the prefetches in other items that use the same file will work because they are based upon the SHA1/SHA256/Size.