How to create dynamic groups based on an external data source?

Hi,
I am pretty new to BigFix and I would like to create dynamic groups based on an external data source (text file, xml…) because all my servers are not in Active Directory so I can’t use AD groups as a filter criteria.
I wanted to use the REST API but I am not sure I can use it to add/delete computers from a dynamic computer group (https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/community/wikis/home?lang=en#!/wiki/Tivoli%20Endpoint%20Manager/page/RESTAPI%20Computer%20Group).
Is there any other way to accomplish that ?

Thanks,

The dynamic group membership is determined by the client on the endpoint itself.
So you need to get the data that’s used by the client to determine group membership onto the endpoints.

If you have that done then you can define the dynamic group - which is the rule the client uses to determine if it’s in the group or not.

Any reason you need to use the REST API to define the group ?

Thanks for your answer.
We use our CMDB to define the maintenance groups (for OS updates). The idea was to use the CMDB (or an export of the data contained in the CMDB) to build the dynamic maintenance groups in BigFix.
If I understand correctly, I should create a script that generates a file or registry key somewhere on the endpoints based on the CMDB data. Then I will create a rule in BigFix that uses this file or registry value to add the computer/server to the right dynamic group.
In our multi-OS environment, I believe the script that will distribute this file/registry can be complex.
I was hoping we could use the REST API to directly add/remove the computer/server to the right dynamic groups and reduce the complexity.

Thanks,

Related, and I think it’s most of your solution: https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/community/forums/html/topic?id=36d82aba-f6ad-44b2-a912-affc49bfa29e