Baseline Redeployment after Sync?

Hello,

I’m a new BigFix admin and was told to always sync baselines prior to deployment, which makes sense. However, since IBM updates the fixlet very often, it inadvertently happens within our patch cycle (30 days) at least 2-3 times, maybe more.

Do I have to redeploy the baseline every time I sync it? What will happen if I don’t redeploy it?

I would want to avoid redeploying it as it could reboot users’ machines more than once (if the updated fixlet from IBM requires another reboot - our baseline “post action” is a message and a forced reboot after some hours) within our patch cycle and that’s really frowned upon where I work, unless there are very good reasons to do so.

Thank you!

If you do not redeploy the baseline, then any open baselines continue using the “old” version of the baseline. You may have false positives or false negatives that were corrected by the fixlet updates.

If your systems had a false positive, they’ll appear Relevant for a patch they don’t need, and the Action Status will show “failed”.

If you had a false negative, then a system would skip installing a patch that it needed. That will show up as machines becoming Relevant to a fixlet/baseline after the fixlet is updated or the baseline is resynced.

I can’t claim best-practice here, but what I do is to create a new baseline every month, resync the old baselines, remove Superseded fixlets from the old ones, and then re-action all of my baselines. I usually don’t interrupt or restart a baseline action in the middle of my deployment cycle unless I’ve personally encountered a problem with one of the fixlets.

Jason,

Thank you for the response.