14 day schedule

Hi All,

I use BigFix only for running the IBM License Metric Tool. So I have no experience with scripting custom fixlets or tasks.

We have thousand of servers we need to scan and we have them divided by groups. Prod servers can only be scanned at night or on weekends. We are able to squeeze all necessary scans into a two week cycle without overloading anything. However BigFix “reapply this action” doesn’t allow for a 14 day schedule. It is either 7 days which is too short or 15 days which becomes three weeks if a scan needs to be run on a certain day of the week. Three weeks is too long. BigFix support confirmed that there is no 14 day option out of the box.

Is there any kind of workaround that can be done by somebody who does not know how to customize fixlets? As of now we have to create single run schedules manually which is very time consuming and error prone. And honestly I find it more than lacking that a scheduling software doesn’t allow for more flexible scheduling. I already created a enhancement request, but even if approved this will take along time before it will be available.

What is your workaround to achieve a 14 day schedule?
Thank you!

Please upvote my enhancement request - thank you!
https://connections-ideas.hcltechsw.com/ideas/IDEACNCTNS-I-2152

Hello
There is a method, it’s a little messy and does involved editing the scan fillets…
What you can do is create a client settings - these have date stamps. Then add some relevance to the Fixlet that checks the age of this setting and becomes relevant when older than 14 days.
e.g.
In the Fixlet, add this line

setting “14D_Test_Last_Executed” = “{now}” on “{now}” for client

Then, in the Fixlet relevance add this clause

not (exists setting “14D_Test_Last_Executed” whose (exists value whose ((now - it as time)<14*day) of it) of client)